PU Concepts

Based on innovative concept studies BASF Polyurethanes shows new application areas for polyurethane (PU). As diverse material properties of polyurethane are as vast are the fields of application.

The concept shoe PURE 1.0 was the first study of this kind. From heel to sole, the shoe is made of 100 per cent polyurethane. The concept fridge coolpure 1.0 demonstrates that PU can be used in household appliances for more than insulation. Ten materials with different characteristics prove this.


coolpure 1.0 demonstrates totally new fields of application for polyurethane in the refrigerator sector. It is a demonstration of creativity and technical ingenuity in exploiting the incredible versatility of polyurethane – thus opening up new possibilities in terms of materials and design.

PURE 1.0 – PURE 1.1 – PURE 1.2

It took less than a year from the initial sketches to the birth of the "All-PU-Shoe".


The success of the PURE 1.0 was continued by the two following generations: PURE 1.1 transports raw material innovations to the customer and PURE 1.2 showcases diverse opportunities for sustainable solutions for our customers.

„Cavus“: from sand core to serial hollow part

PU Konzepte

Anhand innovativer Konzeptstudien zeigt BASF Polyurethanes neue Anwendungsmöglichkeiten für den Werkstoff Polyurethan (PU). So vielfältig wie die Materialeigenschaften von PU sind, so vielfältig sind auch die Einsatzbereiche.

Der Konzeptschuh PURE 1.0 war die erste Studie dieser Art. Vom Absatz bis zur Sohle besteht der Schuh zu 100 Prozent aus Polyurethan. Der Konzeptkühlschrank coolpure macht deutlich, dass PU in Haushaltsgeräten zu mehr genutzt werden kann als zur Dämmung. Zehn Materialien mit unterschiedlichen Merkmalen zeigen dies.


Der coolpure 1.0 zeigt völlig neue Einsatzgebiete für PU im Bereich von Haushaltsgeräten auf. Mit Kreativität und technischer Finesse stellt BASF Polyurethanes anhand eines Kühlschrankes dar, welche Möglichkeiten es bei Material und Design in der Zukunft gibt. Der coolpure 1.0 gibt zudem Impulse für neuartige Produktionsmöglichkeiten.


Vom PURE 1.0 bis zum PURE 1.2

Von den ersten Skizzen bis zur Geburt des "All-PU-Shoes" verging weniger als ein Jahr.

Inzwischen ist die PURE-Familie um zwei weitere Mitglieder gewachsen: PURE 1.1 ist eine konsequente Weiterentwicklung des Konzeptschuhes und der PURE 1.2 zeigt als jüngstes Mitglied der Familie den Einsatz erneuerbarer Ressourcen auf.

„Cavus“:
vom Sandkern bis
zum serienreifen
Hohlbauteil