Super-soft plastics - TPU without plasticiser

The handles of electric tools, cellular phones and laptops have a common requirement, namely an agreeable "dry" feel and a good texture. The secret lies in the material. An innovative range of soft plasticiser-free thermoplastic polyurethanes from BASF fulfils this characteristics.

Super-soft plastics - TPU without plasticiser


Material combinations of two different hardnesses are often used in order to combine different and sometimes conflicting plastic properties. Thermoplastic elastomers (TPE) are used in many cases as soft components. To date, for the production of thermoplastic polyurethanes with hardness levels below 75 Shore A, it has been necessary to use plasticisers. Migration of plasticisers, can however, lead to an increase in the hardness of the final product.

BASF has succeeded in development of thermoplastic polyurethanes that provide permanent, low hardness levels without the addition of plasticiser. The basis for this is a targeted modelling of the products' molecular structure. This has enabled economical processing, good mechanical properties, and softness in the final products.

Super-soft plastics - TPU without plasticiser


Non-plasticised thermoplastic polyurethanes with hardnesses below 75 Shore A have previously had little practical interest on account of their moderate property levels and problematic processing. The new development by BASF has now introduced three non-plasticised Elastollanâ types in a hardness range between 50 and 70 Shore A which no longer suffer these disadvantages. Designated Elastollan SPF, super-soft plastics with Shore hardnesses starting at 53 A are now available which combine excellent processing properties while retaining the familiar property characteristics of TPU. In combination with stiffer thermoplastics (hard/soft combination), products can be made with an agreeable touch.

In addition to a low hardness, decisive factors for selecting thermoplastic elastomers (TPEs) include tensile strength, abrasion and tear resistance, as well as environmental and temperature resistance. The mechanical properties of the newly developed Elastollanâ types all exhibit the typically high level, recognised in thermoplastic polyurethanes. As hard/soft compounds increase in significance, the ability to adhere to thermoplastics has become an increasingly important criterion. The newly developed types have been tested for their adhesive qualities to different thermoplastic materials, in a large number of combinations. Other advantages are found in the material's agreeable texture and as a consequence of the "dry" feel soiling ( e.g. dust accumulation ) is lower than for other TPEs. Also the materials can be easily coloured. Super-soft Elastollan can be processed on conventional injection moulding machines or by extrusion.

Superweiche Kunststoffe - TPU ohne Weichmacher

Griffe von Elektrowerkzeugen oder von Mobiltelefonen und Laptops haben oft eines gemeinsam: den sympathischen "trockenen" Griff und eine gute Haptik. Das Geheimnis liegt in dem Material. Ein neuartiges weichmacherfreies thermoplastisches Polyurethan der BASF sorgt für ein angenehmes Griffempfinden.

Superweiche Kunststoffe - TPU ohne Weichmacher


Um verschiedene und zum Teil sehr gegensätzliche Kunststoffeigenschaften in einem Bauteil nutzen zu können, werden häufig Materialkombinationen aus zwei verschiedenen Härten verwendet. Als Weichkomponenten kommen in vielen Fällen thermoplastische Elastomere (TPE) zum Einsatz. Bei thermoplastischem Polyurethan unterhalb einer Härte von 75 Shore A mussten bei der Herstellung bisher Weichmacher eingesetzt werden. Weichmacher können aber durch Migration zu einem Anstieg der Härte des Endproduktes führen.

BASF ist es gelungen, neuartige weichmacherfreie, thermoplastische Polyurethane herzustellen, die eine dauerhaft geringe Härte ohne Zusatz von Weichmachern gewährleisten. Die Basis hierfür hat das gezielte Modellieren beim molekularen Aufbau der Produkte gelegt. Dadurch wurde es möglich, Wirtschaftlichkeit bei der Verarbeitung, gute mechanische Eigenschaften und Weichheit der Endprodukte zu vereinen.

Superweiche Kunststoffe - TPU ohne Weichmacher


Weichmacherfreie thermoplastische Polyurethane mit Härten unter 75 Shore A hatten bisher wegen ihres geringen Eigenschaftsniveaus und der problematischen Verarbeitung keine praktische Bedeutung. Durch die Neuentwicklung der BASF stehen jetzt drei weichmacherfreie Elastollan®-Typen im Härtebereich zwischen 50 und 70 Shore A zur Verfügung, die diese Schwächen nicht mehr aufweisen. Unter dem Namen Elastollan SPF werden superweiche Kunststoffe mit Shore-Härten ab 53 A angeboten, die unter Beibehalten der bekannten TPU-Merkmale ausgezeichnete Verarbeitungseigenschaften aufweisen. In Kombination mit Thermoplasten (Hart-Weich-Kombination) gelangt man zu Produkten mit angenehmem Griffgefühl. Die Haftung der neuentwickelten Typen zu verschiedenen Thermoplasten ist anhand vieler Kombinationen überprüft worden.

Entscheidend für die Auswahl eines thermoplastischen Elastomers (TPE) sind neben der Härte weitere Kriterien wie Zugfestigkeit, Abrieb- und Weiterreißfestigkeit sowie Medien- und Temperaturbeständigkeit. Mit der wachsenden Bedeutung von Hart-Weich-Verbindungen wird die Haftung zu Thermoplasten zu einem weiteren wichtigen Faktor. Die mechanischen Eigenschaften der neuentwickelten Elastollan®-Typen liegen durchweg auf dem generell hohen Niveau von thermoplastischem Polyurethan. Die Vorteile liegen in erster Linie in der angenehmen Haptik und dem "trockenen" Griff des Materials. Geringer als bei anderen TPE ist die Verschmutzungsneigung, ebenso kann das Material problemlos eingefärbt werden. Das superweiche Elastollan kann auf konventionellen Spritzgießmaschinen oder im Extrusionsverfahren verarbeitet werden.