Lupranol BALANCE - Magic Oil for Phantastic Dreams on Foam Mattresses

Natural oil from the castor-oil plant for mattresses made of Lupranol BALANCE. Lupranol BALANCE, which is very low in emissions, makes your sleep even more restful. Lupranol BALANCE is a unique symbiosis of chemistry and renewable resources.

Lupranol BALANCE - Magic Oil for Phantastic Dreams on Foam Mattresses


Through the application of a completely novel type of catalyst it has been possible for the first time to employ castor- oil in the production of low-emission flexible foam polyols, a new product which has been developed by BASF researchers.

The result of the researchers findings is a completely new form of polyol, Lupranol BALANCE, which boasts numerous advantages for both manufacturers and consumers. A mattress made of Lupranol BALANCE weighing 10 kg contains on average 2.2 kg of castor-oil. This reduces the use of fossil fuels and increases the quality of your dreams.

Lupranol BALANCE - Magic Oil for Phantastic Dreams on Foam Mattresses


What is Castor-oil?


Castor-oil, also known as verenda-oil, is extracted from the seeds of the castor-oil plant. It is a viscous, colourless, odourless and tasteless oil. Ricinus Communis is a plant found in tropical and sub-tropical areas. In Europe it is an ornamental plant which can be found in gardens and parks. The seeds contain a high percentage of low-viscosity ricinoleic acid. For thousands of years castor-oil has been used for healing purposes. The contents of the seeds are employed as technical oils, solvents, finishes, hydraulic fluids and in cosmetics.

Lupranol BALANCE - Magic Oil for Phantastic Dreams on Foam Mattresses


From Castor-oil to Polyol


Castor-oil can also be used as a starter for the production of polyols. The triglyceride of the ricinoleic acid possesses the same functionality three hydroxyl groups per molecule as the base products which are conventionally used for the production of flexible foams. A chemical advantage which has benefits for manufacturer and consumer alike. The latest attempts to employ natural raw materials such as rape, sunflower or olive oil for the manufacture of polyetherols have regularly failed mainly because of their odour and emission levels. With a share of 31 per cent of the total weight in the polyol, BASF researchers have succeeded in the amazing task of linking chemical production with renewable resources.

Lupranol BALANCE - Öl vom Wunderbaum in traumhaftem Matratzenschaum

Natürliches Öl vom Wunderbaum steckt in den Matratzen aus Lupranol BALANCE. Das emissionsarme Lupranol BALANCE sorgt zusätzlich für traumhaften Liegekomfort. Lupranol BALANCE: Eine einzigartige Symbiose von Chemie und nachwachsenden Rohstoffen.

Lupranol BALANCE - Öl vom Wunderbaum in traumhaftem Matratzenschaum


Durch die Verwendung eines neuartigen Katalysators kann Rizinus- alias Verenda-Öl erstmalig als Rohstoff für die Herstellung emissionsarmer Weichschaumpolyole eingesetzt werden. Das haben Forscher der BASF herausgefunden.

Entstanden ist ein neuartiges Polyol, Lupranol BALANCE, vorteilhaft für Hersteller wie Endverbraucher. So beinhaltet ein 10 kg schwerer Matratzenkern aus Lupranol BALANCE durchschnittlich 2,2 kg Verenda-Öl. Das reduziert den Einsatz fossiler Energieträger und man kann wunderbar darauf träumen.

Lupranol BALANCE - Öl vom Wunderbaum in traumhaftem Matratzenschaum


Was ist Verenda-Öl?


Aus dem Samen des Wunderbaumes wird Verenda-Öl gewonnen. Das ist ein zähflüssiges, durchsichtiges, geruch- und geschmackloses Öl. Verenda-Öl ist vielen Menschen auch als Rizinus-Öl bekannt. Ricinus Communis ist eine in den Tropen und Subtropen beheimatete Pflanze. In Europa wächst sie als Zierstrauch in Gärten und Parkanlagen. Der Samen enthält einen hohen Anteil dünnflüssiger Rizinolsäure. Das Rizinusöl, auch Verenda-Öl genannt, wird seit Jahrtausenden zu Heilzwecken eingesetzt. Die Inhaltsstoffe der Samen werden als technische Öle, Lösungsmittel, Lacke Hydraulikflüssigkeiten oder in Kosmetika eingesetzt.

Lupranol BALANCE - Öl vom Wunderbaum in traumhaftem Matratzenschaum


Vom Verenda-Öl zum Polyol


Verenda-Öl eignet sich auch als Starter für die Herstellung von Polyolen. Das Triglycerid der Ricinolsäure weist die gleiche Funktionalität - drei Hydroxylgruppen pro Molekül auf wie die bisher verwendeten Ausgangsrohstoffe zur Weichschaumproduktion. Ein chemischer Vorteil, der sich für Kunden und Hersteller gleichermaßen nutzen lässt. Bisherige Versuche, Rohstoffe aus der Natur wie Raps-, Sonnenblumen- oder Olivenöl für die Herstellung von Polyetherolen einzusetzen, waren vor allem an den Geruchs- und Emissionswerten gescheitert. Mit einem Anteil von 31 Prozent Verenda-Öl am Gesamtgewicht im Polyol ist den Entwicklern bei BASF eine beachtliche Verknüpfung von chemischer Produktion und dem Einsatz nachwachsender Rohstoffe gelungen