A perfect marriage of plastic and steel

Sandwich Plate System for steel engineering: A layer of steel, a layer of polyurethane plastic, a layer of steel - the components built using the Sandwich Plate System (SPS) look like a sandwich.

A perfect marriage of plastic and steel

 

The BASF has developed this innovative technology together with Intelligent Engineering Ltd. SPS represents a major advance in steel engineering, i.e. in all applications where giant steel parts are used: mainly in shipbuilding and in bridge construction. Compared with previous methods, the polyurethane layer between the steel plates increases the rigidity of the components, increases their service lives and reduces their production costs.

 

 


A perfect marriage of plastic and steel

 

From high costs and complexity ...
The huge steel elements used in shipbuilding or bridge structures are exposed to enormous mechanical stress. To maximize stiffness and minimize deformation, the steel plates are reinforced with welded-on longitudinal ribs. However, the welds of these ribs are the first point of attack for corrosion and fatigue. Also, the large amounts of steel and iron needed require appreciable labor.

 

 

 

 

 

 


... to greater stability and efficiency with plastic
SPS is a much more effective and elegant solution for keeping large steel components in shape under load. The elastomer is simply injected between the two steel plates in place of longitudinal rib reinforcements. SPS makes structural components better able to withstand mechanical stress than conventional all-steel construction. The continuous elastomer layer dissipates stress over larger areas, reducing hard spots where ribs are welded to the plates. Impacts are absorbed more effectively, deformations are smaller, for example in the event of a collision. The reduced susceptibility to corrosion and fatigue reduces maintenance and increases service life. And the reduced material and labor requirements mean that costs can be saved at the building stage too.

The BASF affiliate Elastogran is one of the world's leading companies in the field of polyurethane (PU) plastics. The customer-specific development of tailored PU problem solvers is one of the special strengths of the market and technology leader for polyurethane systems and specialty elastomers. SPS is proof of the company's polyurethane specialties know-how, PU expertise and supreme ability to innovate. Elastogran's headquarters at Lemförde in Lower Saxony, Germany, is the international research and technology center for PU specialties from BASF Polyurethanes Worldwide .

Ein perfektes Team aus Kunststoff und Stahl

Sandwich Plate System für den konstruktiven Stahlbau: Eine Schicht Stahl, eine Schicht Polyurethan-Kunststoff, eine Schicht Stahl - wie ein Sandwich sehen die Bauteile aus, die nach dem Sandwich Plate System (SPS) aufgebaut sind.

Ein perfektes Team aus Kunststoff und Stahl
BASF hat diese innovative Technologie zusammen mit dem Unternehmen Intelligent Engineering Ltd. entwickelt. SPS bedeutet einen großen Fortschritt im konstruktiven Stahlbau, also überall dort, wo riesige Stahlteile eingesetzt werden: vor allem im Schiffbau und bei Brückenkonstruktionen. Im Vergleich zu bisherigen Techniken erhöht die Polyurethan-Schicht zwischen den Stahlplatten die Stabilität der Bauteile, macht sie langlebiger und ökonomischer in der Herstellung.

 

 

 

Ein perfektes Team aus Kunststoff und Stahl

Von großem Aufwand und hohen Kosten ...
Die riesigen Stahlelemente eines Schiffsrumpfes oder einer Brücke sind enormen mechanischen Belastungen ausgesetzt. Größtmögliche Steifigkeit und ein geringer Verformungsgrad sind deshalb unbedingt erforderlich. Bisher wurden Stahlplatten mit aufgeschweißten Längsrippen verstärkt. Nachteil: Die Schweißnähte dieser Stahlrippen sind erste Angriffspunkte für Korrosion und Materialermüdung. Außerdem werden große Mengen an Stahl und Eisen benötigt und das Aufschweißen erfordert einen erheblichen Verarbeitungsaufwand.

 

 

 

 


... zu mehr Stabilität und Effizienz mit Kunststoff
SPS ist eine viel effektivere und elegantere Lösung, um große Stahlbauteile bei Belastung in Form zu halten. Der Zwischenraum zwischen zwei Stahlplatten wird statt der Verstärkung durch Längsrippen einfach mit dem Elastomer ausgegossen. Im Vergleich zur konventionellen reinen Stahlkonstruktion macht SPS Bauteile widerstandsfähiger gegen mechanische Belastung. Die durchgängige Elastomer-Schicht leitet Kräfte besser ab und verteilt sie gleichmäßiger als die punktuell aufgeschweißten Rippen. Stöße werden effektiver absorbiert, es treten geringere Deformationen auf, etwa im Fall einer Kollision. Durch weniger korrosions- und ermüdungsanfällige Stellen sinkt der Wartungsaufwand, die Lebensdauer steigt. Schon beim Bau können durch die Reduzierung von Material und Arbeitsaufwand Kosten eingespart werden.